Latest Posts

The National Commission on the BP Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling will be co-chaired by former Florida Sen. Bob Graham, left, and former federal Environmental Protection Agency chief William Reilly, right, who ran the agency during the Exxon spill.

The bipartisan Commission, established through Executive Order 13543 and signed by President Barrack Obama on May 21, 2010 , is tasked with providing recommendations on how we can prevent and mitigate the impact of any future spills that result from offshore drilling.

The spill commission's five other members appointed by the White House include:

• Frances Beinecke, president of the Natural Resources Defense Council, an environmental group. She has specialized in marine ecosystems and clean energy.

• Donald Boesch, president of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science. He is from Louisiana and is known for his research of the environmental effects of offshore energy development.

• Terry Garcia, a former National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration assistant secretary who now serves as the executive vice president for mission programs at the National Geographic Society. He was NOAA's general counsel during the Exxon Valdez spill and led the implementation of the restoration plan for Prince William Sound and the Gulf of Mexico.

• Cherry Murray, dean of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences.

• Fran Ulmer, University of Alaska Anchorage Chancellor. She was Alaska's lieutenant governor from 1994 to 2002 and served in the state House of Representatives from 1987 to 1994 as a Democrat. She ran for governor in 2002 but lost to Frank Murkowski. She is a former Juneau mayor and has worked on national commissions working on climate change, election reform and fisheries issues.

(Anchorage Daily News, 6/15/2010, The White House)